OMA Annual Industry Awards celebrate ‘best of the best’ talent in the Out of Home industry

Last night, the Outdoor Media Association (OMA) hosted its Annual General Meeting followed by an Awards ceremony celebrating the dedicated and talented individuals who contribute to the Out of Home industry.

The refreshed, new annual awards program offers more opportunities to recognise the depth and breadth of Outdoor talent including state awards. In 2021 the OMA also introduced a Hall of Fame award to honour the giants of the industry for their lifetime achievements.

OMA CEO, Charmaine Moldrich, said: “The refreshed awards program acknowledges both the maturity of the industry, as well as the boost in OMA membership which has seen 13 companies join in the last 15 months.

“We received 58 nominations, submitted to acknowledge the talent of our members’ teams. From Rising Stars to the Hall of Fame, we are proud to celebrate the incredibly significant contribution made by our members, not just to their company but to the wider OOH industry. We are a very tight-knit and collegiate industry, and our members and their teams go above and beyond the call of duty to support the OMA and MOVE. The nominations and awards acknowledge this contribution and give us a chance to show our gratitude and say thank you,” concluded Moldrich.

A new award category, the Emerging Leader Award sponsored by Big Screen Video recognises emerging leaders within the Outdoor industry and provides the winner with an opportunity to travel, network and enhance their understanding of digital LED technology, the client experience and how this contributes to ROI.

Big Screen Video CEO, Paul Ellery, said: “We are excited to provide this opportunity to a worthy candidate, to immerse themselves in the new technology that is making Out of Home such an innovative industry. With our diverse network of clients in Outdoor, we see huge benefits in providing this educational opportunity.”

Also introduced this year is the Ben Walker National Rising Star Award as a memorial to CEO of Shopper, who passed away earlier this year. Ben Walker was a bright shining star and this award was created to recognise bright young talent in the Outdoor ranks.

The finalists and winners were chosen by judges: Cathy O’Connor, CEO of oOh!media; Charles Parry-Okeden, Independent Chair of the OMA and MOVE; Joe Copley, Chief Revenue Officer, Seedooh; Paul Butler, Managing Director, Val Morgan Outdoor; Steve Bovey, 2018 Excellence in Innovation Award Winner; and special guest judge Lisa Walker, Ben Walker’s widow who judged the Ben Walker National Rising Star Award.


Emerging Leader Award sponsored by Big Screen Video
Alex Anthony – VMO

Excellence in Innovation Award
Nigel Spicer – Cactus Imaging, oOh!media

Outstanding Service Award
NSW | Cassandra Cameron – JCDecaux
QLD | Joint Winners: Elise Taylor – oOh!media and Nick McAlpine – Bishopp
SA | Russell Bilsborow – JCDecaux
VIC | Christian Zavecz – QMS
WA | Mark Treasure – oOh!media

Rising Star Award
NSW | Joint Winners: Alec Mowat – VMO and Meaghan Spencer – oOh!media
QLD | Octavia Bellekens – VMO
SA | Natasha Jarrett – oOh!media
VIC | Tess Fellows – oOh!media
WA | Anna Wyatt-Spratt – oOh!media

Ben Walker National Rising Star Award
Meaghan Spencer – oOh!media

OMA Industry Award
Karissa Fletcher – Shopper

Hall of Fame
Brian Tyquin – Outdoor Systems
Daphne McPhee (Posthumous)
Kelvin Whitford

For more information visit